7/8 Boys Rugby

Middle School Boys Rugby Commissioners: 

Bruce Kuklinski and Jerome Foenander
bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca / jerome.foenander@smus.ca

 
GAME TIME – All games will start at 3:45pm or earlier if possible.
Finish as close to 5pm or as soon after as possible.

2018 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Schedule

Games are 7-aside using World Rugby 7-aside Laws. Please see these in a separate Laws document. However unlimited substitutions can be made in all games. Please also see in the separate laws document the new Word Rugby application updates since last season.

Game length is to be as follows with the aim being that each team will play approx. 30-40minutes per day:
Games to be played on ½ size rugby/soccer field approx. 35-40m across X 50-60m long.
It is recommended that the ball size used at this level be a size 4 rugby ball, instead of a larger size 5 rugby ball.

Other Laws are to be as follows:
Grade 7/8 – Season begins with uncontested 3 person scrums and maximum of 3 person (i.e. 2 or 3 person) uncontested lineouts but gradually moves to contested scrums and lineouts depending on each teams developments. By the Jamboree everyone is playing contested scrums and lineouts. After a try, the team that has scored restarts play with a drop kick which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. Errors by the kicking team at a kick-off or restart result in a free kick to the non-offending team which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. The defending scrumhalf must take a position either 5m back from the scrum, or immediately behind the scrum with one hand touching his own hooker until the scrum is over i.e. the ball is out of the scrum.

Rugby Info: For complete rules and regulations for Grade 7/8 Under 160lbs Boys Rugby, please see this document:    Complete Coaches’ information for grade 7/8  Middle School Rugby

New Schedule for April 26th.  Updated schedule for May 3 and 10.

as of April 4, 12, 23, 25   
Date Visitors Host Format
Thursday April 12

Colquitz
SMUS Red
@Rockheights 2 X 10min period games
Glanford
SMUS Black
@ Royal Oak 2 X 10min period games
Bayside
Central
@ Monterey 2 X 10min period games
Gordon Head
GNS
@ Lansdowne 2 X 10min period games
     
Monday April 16th (SMUS is unable to play on April 19th) Monterey
SMUS Red
@ GNS (Windsor Park) 2 X 10min period games
Lansdowne
SMUS Black
@ Central 2 X 10min period games
Thursday April 19th Bayside
Colquitz
@ Glanford 2 X 10min period games
Royal Oak
Rockheights
@ Gordon Head 3 X 10min period games
     
Thursday April 26 Central @ Royal Oak 3 X 10min period games
Glanford
Gordon Head
@ SMUS Red 2 X 10min period games
SMUS Black
GNS
@ Bayside 2 X 10min period games
Lansdowne @ Monterey 3 X 10min period games
     
Thursday May 3  Monterey @ SMUS Black 3 X 10min period games
Central
Bayside
@ Gordon Head 2 X 10min period games
Glanford
@ GNS (Windsor Park) 3 X 10min period games
Royal Oak
SMUS Red
@ Lansdowne 2 X 10min period games
     
Monday May 7th Gordon Head
Monterey
@ Glanford 2 X 10min period games
Thursday May 10  GNS
@ Royal Oak 3 X 10min period games
SMUS Red @ Central 3 X 10min period games
SMUS Black
Lansdowne
@ Bayside 2 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday May 16 Jamboree at SMUS Details to be posted  

2018 Under 160lbs Jamboree May 16th

Link to jamboree schedule and information – Updated May 16th

 2018 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Coaches’ List

School Name Email phone (250)
Bayside Ryan Davidson rdavidson@sd63.bc.ca 652.1135
  Charles Kovacs ckovacs@sd63.bc.ca  
Central Kevin Clark keclark@sd61.bc.ca 477.6845
  Topher McIntosh cmacintosh@sd61.bc.ca  
Colquitz Brad Underwood bradjodi@telus.net 479.1678
Kelly Rimmer karimmer@sd61.bc.ca  
  Brad Underwood bradjodi@telus.net  
       
Glanford Micha Seaberg mseaberg@sd61.bc.ca 479.7179
  Greg Clague gclague@hotmail.com  
GNS Doug Palm dpalm@mygns.com 370.6803
MacByran Bos macbryn.bos3@gmail.com
Duncan Brice dbrice@mygns.com
Gordon Head Keith Grew kgres@sd61.bc.ca 477.1855
Lance Foreman lsa4man@shaw.ca
Jolene Smith josmith@sd61.bc.ca
       
Lansdowne Paul Stevenson pstevenson@sd61.bc.ca 598.3336
  Rae-Lynn Parkins raeparkins@hotmail.com (250-884-8089)  
Harry Girdler harrygirdler99@hotmail.com
       
Monterey Lana Rud lrud@sd61.bc.ca  598.4589
Tiffany Picketts tiffany_picketts@hotmail.com
Christina Trump chtrumpy@sd61.bc.ca
  Roger Robinson roger@touchlounge.ca  (250-661-8747)  
       
Rockheights Ian Snider isnider@sd61.bc.ca 384.7125
Sean Rumble srumble@sd61.bc.ca
  Maryanne Trofimuk  mtrofimuk@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Royal Oak Mike Hilleren mhilleren@sd63.bc.ca 474.1291
  Ben Stanchfield bstanchfield@sd63.ca  
  Ian Menzies imenzies@sd63.bc.ca  
       
SMUS Bruce Kuklinski bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca 592.9853
  Tom Hollingworth tom.hollingworth@smus.ca   
Mike Danskin mike.danskin@smus.ca
       
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.