7/8 Boys Rugby

Middle School Boys Rugby Commissioner: 

Mike Danskin, SMUS mike.danskin@smus.ca 

 
GAME TIME – All games will start at 3:45pm or earlier if possible.
Finish as close to 5pm or as soon after as possible.

2023 Grade 7/8  Boys Rugby Schedule

Games are 7-aside using World Rugby 7-aside Laws. Please see these in a separate Laws document. However unlimited substitutions can be made in all games. Please also see in the separate laws document the new Word Rugby application updates since last season.

Game length is to be as follows with the aim being that each team will play approx. 30-40minutes per day:
Games to be played on ½ size rugby/soccer field approx. 35-40m across X 50-60m long.
It is recommended that the ball size used at this level be a size 4 rugby ball, instead of a larger size 5 rugby ball.

Other Laws are to be as follows:
Grade 7/8 – Season begins with uncontested 3 person scrums and maximum of 3 person (i.e. 2 or 3 person) uncontested lineouts but gradually moves to contested scrums and lineouts depending on each teams developments. By the Jamboree everyone is playing contested scrums and lineouts. After a try, the team that has scored restarts play with a drop kick which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. Errors by the kicking team at a kick-off or restart result in a free kick to the non-offending team which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. The defending scrumhalf must take a position either 5m back from the scrum, or immediately behind the scrum with one hand touching his own hooker until the scrum is over i.e. the ball is out of the scrum.

Rugby Info: For complete rules and regulations for Grade 7/8 Boys Rugby, please see links at top of the page.

2023 Schedule Boys Rugby 

Updated April 6, 17, 24, 26
Date Visitors Host Format
Thursday April 13

Dunsmuir
Bayside
Journey 
@ Shoreline 2 X 10min period games
Central
Royal Oak
@ Glanford 2 X 10min period games
Cedar Hill
Lansdowne
Monterey Green
@ Arbutus 2 X 10min period games
GNS
SMUS
@ Monterey White 2 X 10min period games
Thursday April 20

Dunsmuir
Lansdowne
Shoreline
@ SMUS 2 X 10min period games
GNS
Central
@ Monterey Green 2 X 10min period games
Cedar Hill
Bayside
Arbutus
@ Royal Oak 2 X 10min period games
Glanford
Monterey White
@ Journey 2 X 10min period games
Dunsmuir
Arbutus
@ Colquitz 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday April 27 Monterey White
Royal Oak
@ Lansdowne 2 X 10min period games
Cedar Hill
Journey
GNS
@ Shoreline 2 X 10min period games
Glanford
Monterey Green
Dunsmuir
@ Bayside 2 X 10min period games
Dunsmuir
SMUS
Arbutus
Monterey Green
@ Central 2 X 10min period games
  Cedar Hill
Colquitz
@ SMUS 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday May 4


Monterey
GNS 
Lansdowne
@ Cedar Hill 2 X 10min period games
Royal Oak
Central
@ Dunsmuir 2 X 10min period games
SMUS
Bayside
Journey
@ Arbutus 2 X 7 min period games
Lansdowne
Shoreline
Colquitz
@ Glanford 2 X 7 min period games
Thursday May 11




SMUS 
Shoreline
@ Royal Oak 2 X 10min period games
Colquitz
GNS
@ Bayside 2 X 10min period games
Monterey
Glanford
Cedar Hill
@ Journey 2 X 7 min period games
Lansdowne
Dunsmuir
Arbutus
@ Central 2 X 7 min period games
     
Wednesday May 17th Jamboree at SMUS Tournament Info Here  

 2022 Grade 7/8 Boys Rugby Coaches’ List

School Name Email phone (250)
Arbutus Paul Hill paul.william.hill@gmail.com 477.1878
  Megan Peddie mpeddie@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Bayside Ryan Davidson rdavidson@saanichschools.ca 652.1135
  Eric Stohr estohr@saanichschools.ca  
Central Kevin Clark keclark@sd61.bc.ca 477.6845
Cedar Hill Matt Smith
Mark Ahenda
masmith@sd61.bc.ca
mahenda@sd61.bc.ca
477.6945
Jon Romphf jromphf@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Dunsmuir Jamie Clegg jclegg@sd62.bc.ca  
       
Glanford Jaimee Devlin jdevlin@sd61.bc.ca 479.7179
Journey Brittany Sims bsims@sd62.bc.ca 642-5881
  Oliver Winser owinser@sd62.bc.ca  
  Zac Vine zvine@sd62.bc.ca  
       
GNS Eion Carroll eyechartcarroll@gmail.com 370.6803
Casey Westergaard cwestergaard@mygns.ca
Duncan Brice dbrice@mygns.ca
       
Lansdowne Denica Bowe dbowe@sd61.bc.ca 598.3336
  Todd Schroeder tshroeder@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Monterey Jason Gammon jgammon@sd61.bc.ca  598.4589
Alan Cooper alan.cooper@bci.ca
  lwakely@hotmail.com
       
Royal Oak Adam Ravenhill aravenhill@saanichschools.ca 479.7128
  Ben Stanchfield bstanchfield@saanichschools.ca  
       
Shoreline Micha Seaberg mseaberg@sd61.bc.ca 386.8367
  David Gwilliam dgwilliam@sd61.bc.ca  
       
SMUS Mike Danskin mike.danskin@smus.ca 592.9853
  Jackie Cunningham jackie.cunningham@smus.ca   
Tom Hollingworth tom.hollingworth@smus.ca
       
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.