7/8 Boys Rugby

Middle School Boys Rugby Commissioners: 

Bruce Kuklinski and Jerome Foenander
bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca / jerome.foenander@smus.ca

 
GAME TIME – All games will start at 3:45pm or earlier if possible.
Finish as close to 5pm or as soon after as possible.

2019 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Schedule

Games are 7-aside using World Rugby 7-aside Laws. Please see these in a separate Laws document. However unlimited substitutions can be made in all games. Please also see in the separate laws document the new Word Rugby application updates since last season.

Game length is to be as follows with the aim being that each team will play approx. 30-40minutes per day:
Games to be played on ½ size rugby/soccer field approx. 35-40m across X 50-60m long.
It is recommended that the ball size used at this level be a size 4 rugby ball, instead of a larger size 5 rugby ball.

Other Laws are to be as follows:
Grade 7/8 – Season begins with uncontested 3 person scrums and maximum of 3 person (i.e. 2 or 3 person) uncontested lineouts but gradually moves to contested scrums and lineouts depending on each teams developments. By the Jamboree everyone is playing contested scrums and lineouts. After a try, the team that has scored restarts play with a drop kick which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. Errors by the kicking team at a kick-off or restart result in a free kick to the non-offending team which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. The defending scrumhalf must take a position either 5m back from the scrum, or immediately behind the scrum with one hand touching his own hooker until the scrum is over i.e. the ball is out of the scrum.

Rugby Info: For complete rules and regulations for Grade 7/8 Under 160lbs Boys Rugby, please see links at top of the page.

2019 Schedule Boys Rugby – Under 160lbs

as of April 1
Date Visitors Host Format
Thursday April 11

Cedar Hill
SMUS 
@ Spencer 2 X 10min period games
Arbutus
Monterey
@ Dunsmuir 2 X 10min period games
Bayside
N. Saanich
@ Gordon Head 2 X 10min period games
Shoreline
Glanford
Central
@ Royal Oak see schedule details
     
Monday April 15th (SMUS is unable to play on April 18th) Gordon Head
SMUS 
@ Glanford 2 X 10min period games
Thursday April 18th Dunsmuir  @ Central 3 X 10min period games
Spencer @ Shoreline 3 X 10min period games
Monterey
N. Saanich
@ Cedar Hill 2 X 10min period games
Bayside
Royal Oak
@ Arbutus 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday April 25 Arbutus @ N. Saanich 3 X 10min period games
Gordon Head @ Royal Oak 3 X 10min period games
Shoreline
SMUS
@ Monterey 2 X 10min period games
Glanford
Central
@ Spencer 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday May 2 

Shoreline  @ Dunsmuir 3 X 10min period games
Glanford @ Cedar Hill 3 X 10min period games
Royal Oak
N. Saanich
@ SMUS 2 X 10min period games
Arbutus
Spencer
@ Gordon Head 2 X 10min period games
Bayside
Monterey
@ Central 2 X 10min period games
     
Monday May 6th Any games needing to be rescheduled from May 9th
Thursday May 9



Gordon Head
@ Monterey 3 X 10min period games
SMUS  @ Bayside 3 X 10min period games
Spencer @ N. Saanich 3 X 10min period games
Central @ Arbutus 3 X 10min period games
Royal Oak
Cedar Hill
@ Shoreline 2 X 10min period games
Dunsmuir @ Glanford 3 X 10min period games
     
Tuesday May 14 Jamboree at SMUS Tournament Info Here  

2019 Schedule Boys Rugby – Open Weight

Date Visitors Home Format
April 11 Lansdowne
Journey
Central
@ Royal Oak 2 X 10min period games
April 18 Lansdowne
Journey
@ Central 2 X 10min period games
April 25 Central
Journey
@ Lansdowne 2 X 10min period games
May 2 Central
Lansdowne
@ Journey 2 X 10min period game
May 9 Central
Lansdowne
Journey
@ Glanford 2 X 10min period games
May 14th Final Jamboree Day @ SMUS

2019 – Open Weight Jamboree May 14th

Link to jamboree schedule and information 

 2019 Grade 7/8 Boys Rugby Coaches’ List

School Name Email phone (250)
Arbutus Rob Parker rgparker@sd61.bc.ca 477.1878
  Brent DeNat brentdenat3@gmail.com  
       
Bayside Ryan Davidson rdavidson@saanichschools.ca 652.1135
  Eric Stoehr estoehr@saanichschools.ca  
Central Kevin Clark keclark@sd61.bc.ca 477.6845
  Topher McIntosh cmacintosh@sd61.bc.ca  
Cedar Hill Paul Hayes phayes@sd61.bc.ca 477.6945
Carter Giesbrecht cgiesbrecht@sd61.bc.ca  
     
Dunsmuir Meghan Caldwell mcaldwell@sd62.bc.ca 478.5548
Darren Russell drussell@sd62.bc.ca  
       
Glanford Bryden Gage bgage@sd61.bc.ca 479.7179
  David Jack davidjack@gmail.com  
  Matt Yerrell matthewyerrell@hotmail.com  
  Brett Pinkerton brett.pinkerton47@gmail.com  
  Adam Benning cleanlinescarpentry@hotmail.com  
Journey Conor Hart chart@sd62.bc.ca 642-5881
  Oliver Winser owinser@sd62.bc.ca  
  Zac Vine zvine@sd62.bc.ca  
       
Gordon Head Richard Neary rneary@richardnearylaw.com 477.1855
Cathy Nelson cnelson@sd61.bc.ca
Shawn Boulding sboulding@sd61.bc.ca
       
Lansdowne Sean Powell spowell@sd61.bc.ca 598.3336
  Todd Schroeder tshroeder@sd61.bc.ca  
  Denica Bowe dbowe@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Monterey Lana Rud lrud@sd61.bc.ca  598.4589
Glen Barlow gb@cookstliqour.com
Christina Trump chtrumpy@sd61.bc.ca
  Roger Robinson rogerthelocal@gmail.com  
       
North Saanich Pat Chambers pchambers@saanichschools.ca 656.1129
Rob Greaves rgreaves@saanichschools.ca
  Nadine Stofer nstofer@saanichschools.ca  
       
Royal Oak Mike Hilleren mhilleren@saanichschools.ca 479.7128
  Ben Stanchfield bstanchfield@saanichschools.ca  
  Adam Ravenhill aravenhill@saanichschools.ca  
  Ian Menzies imenzies@saanichschools.ca  
       
Shoreline Micha Seaberg mseaberg@sd61.bc.ca 386.8367
  Tom Woods tom.woods@telus.net  
  Nadine Naughton nnaughton@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Spencer Sam Watkins swatkins@sd62.bc.ca 474-1291
  Huw Griffiths hgriffiths@sd.bc.ca  
  Leanne Bilous labilous@sd62.bc.ca  
       
SMUS Bruce Kuklinski bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca 592.9853
  Tom Hollingworth tom.hollingworth@smus.ca   
Mike Danskin mike.danskin@smus.ca
       
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.