7/8 Boys Rugby

**To be updated Spring 2018 when information is available

2017 Boys Rugby

2017 Commissioner:  Bruce Kuklinski, SMUS;  bruce.kuklinski@smus.bc.ca | 250-592-3549

GAME TIME – All games will start at 3:45pm or earlier if possible.
Finish as close to 5pm or as soon after as possible.

2017 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Schedule

Games are 7-aside using World Rugby 7-aside Laws. Please see these in a separate Laws document. However unlimited substitutions can be made in all games. Please also see in the separate laws document the new Word Rugby application updates since last season.

Game length is to be as follows with the aim being that each team will play approx. 30-40minutes per day:
Games to be played on ½ size rugby/soccer field approx. 35-40m across X 50-60m long.
It is recommended that the ball size used at this level be a size 4 rugby ball, instead of a larger size 5 rugby ball.

Other Laws are to be as follows:
Grade 7/8 – Season begins with uncontested 3 person scrums and maximum of 3 person (i.e. 2 or 3 person) uncontested lineouts but gradually moves to contested scrums and lineouts depending on each teams developments. By the Jamboree everyone is playing contested scrums and lineouts. After a try, the team that has scored restarts play with a drop kick which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. Errors by the kicking team at a kick-off or restart result in a free kick to the non-offending team which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. The defending scrumhalf must take a position either 5m back from the scrum, or immediately behind the scrum with one hand touching his own hooker until the scrum is over i.e. the ball is out of the scrum.

Rugby Info: For complete rules and regulations for Grade 7/8 Under 160lbs Boys Rugby, please see this document:    Complete Coaches’ information for grade 7/8  Middle School Rugby

 

as of April 6    
Monday April 10th
(not Thursday April 13th due to Easter weekend)
Colquitz at Glanford 3 X 10min period games
Monterey at Cedar Hill 3 X 10min period games
Lansdowne and Central at Spencer 2 X 10min period games
Rockheights and North Saanich Blue at Bayside 2 X 10min period games
SMUS and Shoreline at North Saanich White 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday April 20 Spencer at North Saanich Blue 3 X 10min period games
Lansdowne at SMUS 3 X 10min period games
Bayside and Cedar Hill at Shoreline 2 X 10min period games
North Saanich White and Glanford at Central 2 X 10min period games
Rockheights and Colquitz at Monterey 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday April 27 Bayside at North Saanich White 3 X 10min period games
Central at Rockheights 3 X 10min period games
Shoreline and Colquitz at Lansdowne – 2 X 10min period games
Monterey and SMUS at Spencer 2 X 10min period games
North Saanich Blue and Cedar Hill at Glanford 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday May 4 Glanford at Monterey 3 X 10min period games
Colquitz at Cedar Hill 3 X 10min period games
Lansdowne and Rockheights at North Saanich Blue 2 X 10min period games
 SMUS and Shoreline at Central 2 X 10min period games
Spencer and North Saanich White at Bayside 2 X 10min period games
     
Thursday May 11 North Saanich Blue at Shoreline 3 X 10min period games
Bayside at Spencer 3 X 10min period games
Central and Cedar Hill at Lansdowne 2 X 10min period games
Glanford and SMUS at Rockheights 2 X 10min period games
Monterey and North Saanich White at Colquitz 2 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday May 17 Jamboree at SMUS  

2017 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Jamboree Schedule

Pool A – 2 X 7 minute halves
Game 1 – 9:00am – SMUS vs. Spencer – Field 1

Game 5 – 9:30am – SMUS vs. Cedar Hill– Field 1
Game 6 – 9:30am – Colquitz vs. Spencer – Field 3
Game 9 – 10:10am – Colquitz vs. Cedar Hill – Field 1
Game 13 – 10:40am – SMUS vs. Colquitz – Field 1
Game 14 – 10:40am – Cedar Hill vs. Spencer– Field 3

Pool B – 2 X 10 minute halves
Game 2 – 9:00am – Bayside vs. Central – Field 3

Game 10 – 10:10am – Central vs. Rockheights – Field 3
Game 17 – 11:00am – Bayside vs. Rockheights – Field 3

Pool C – 2 X 10 minute halves
Game 3 – 9:00am – Monterey vs. Lansdowne – Field 4

Game 11 – 10:10am – Lansdowne vs. North Saanich B – Field 4
Game 18 – 11:00am – Monterey vs. North Saanich B – Field 4

Pool D – 2 X 7 minute halves
Game 4 – 9:00am – North Saanich A vs. Shoreline – Field 2

Game 7 – 9:30am – North Saanich A vs. Glanford – Field 2
Game 8 – 9:30am – Shoreline vs. Cumberland – Field 4
Game 12 – 10:10am – Glanford vs. Cumberland – Field 2
Game 15 – 10:40am – North Saanich A vs. Cumberland – Field 2
Game 16 – 10:40am – Glanford vs. Shoreline – Field 4

Scores
Scores need to be kept during pool play, so that after pool play, teams can be placed in the appropriate games for the remainder of the day.

In the event that teams in the same initial pools are tied on wins and losses at the end of their pool play, in order to decide where teams are placed in which placing games, teams will firstly be ranked if two teams are involved based on the result between the two teams, and secondly on the try differential from all initial pool games.

LUNCH WILL BE SERVED 11:15AM TO 12:15PM

Grade 7/8 Placing Games begin at 12:30pm
2017 Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs placing matches – (2 X 7 minute halves)

Placing Games
In the event of a tie in these placing games, 2 X 2 minute sudden death halves shall be played, with the first team scoring declared the winner. If neither team scores in sudden death overtime, the team that scored first in the game shall be declared the winner.

Cup Quarter-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 19 – 12:30pm – 1st Pool A vs. 2nd Pool B – Field 1
Game 20 – 12:30pm – 1st Pool B vs. 2nd Pool A – Field 2
Game 21 – 12:30pm – 1st Pool C vs. 2nd Pool D – Field 3
Game 22 – 12:30pm – 1st Pool D vs. 2nd Pool C – Field 4

Bowl Playoffs – 7 minute halves
Game 23 – 12:50pm – 3rd Pool A vs. 4th Pool D – Field 1
Game 24 – 12:50pm – 3rd Pool D vs. 4th Pool A – Field 3
Game 25 – 12:50pm – 3rd Pool B vs. 3rd Pool C – Field 4

Plate Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 26 – 1:20pm – Loser Game 19 vs. Loser Game 22 – Field 3
Game 27 – 1:20pm – Loser Game 20 vs. Loser Game 21 – Field 4

Cup Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 28 – 1:20pm – Winner Game 19 vs. Winner Game 22 – Field 1
Game 29 – 1:20pm – Winner Game 20 vs. Winner Game 21 – Field 2

Shield Final – 7 minute halves
Game 30 – 1:40pm – Loser Game 23 vs. Loser Game 24 – Field 2

Bowl Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 31 – 1:40pm – Winner Game 23 vs. Loser Game 25 – Field 3
Game 32 – 1:40pm – Winner Game 24 vs. Winner Game 25 – Field 4

7th/8th Playoff – 7 minute halves
Game 33 – 1:40pm – Loser Game 26 vs. Loser Game 27 – Field 1

11th/12th Playoff – 7 minute halves
Game 34 – 2:10pm – Loser Game 31 vs. Loser Game 32 – Field 4

Bowl Final – 7 minute halves
Game 35 – 2:10pm – Winner Game 31 vs. Winner Game 32 – Field 3

Grade 7/8 and less than 160lbs Boys Rugby Coaches’ List

School Name Email phone (250)
Bayside Richard Cook rcook@sd63.bc.ca  (250-208-9487) 652.1135
  Jared Barker jbarker1975@gmail.com  
Cedar Hill Dom Butcher dombutcher@gmail.com (250-415-9580) 477.6845
  Paul Hayes phayes@sd61.bc.ca  
James Scott jfscot@yahoo.ca
Colquitz Jared Adams jadams@sd61.bc.ca 479.1678
 (no home
games)
Kelly Rimmer karimmer@sd61.bc.ca  
  Brad Underwood bradjodi@telus.net  
       
Central Topher McIntosh cmacintosh@sd61.bc.ca 386.3591
  Kevin Clark keclark@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Glanford Micha Seaberg mseaberg@sd61.bc.ca 479.7179
  Greg Clague gclague@hotmail.com  
       
Lansdowne Paul Stevenson pstevenson@sd61.bc.ca 598.3336
  Rae-Lynn Parkins raeparkins@hotmail.com (250-884-8089)  
       
Monterey Lana Rud lrud@sd61.bc.ca  598.4589
Jonathan Romphf jromphf@sd61.bc.ca
  Roger Robinson roger@touchlounge.ca  (250-661-8747)  
       
North Saanich Pat Chambers pchambers@sd63.bc.ca 656.1129
  Rob Greaves rgreaves@sd63.bc.ca  
  Nadine Stofer nstofer@sd63.bc.ca  
       
Rockheights Dave Backhouse dbackhouse@sd61.bc.ca 384.7125
  Maryanne Trofimuk  mtrofimuk@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Spencer Leanne Bilous labilous@sd62.bc.ca 474.1291
  Darrell Doerksen ddoerksen@sd62.bc.ca  
  Huw Griffiths hgriffiths@sd62.bc.ca  
       
SMUS Bruce Kuklinski bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca 592.9853
  Tom Hollingworth tom.hollingworth@smus.ca   
Mike Danskin mike.danskin@smus.ca
       
Shoreline Nandine Naugton nnaughton@sd61.bc.ca 386.8367
  Tom Woods tom.woods @telus.net  
  Michelle Troughton mtroughton@sd61.bc.ca  
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed