Badminton

2023 Middle School Badminton

COMMISSIONER for 2023: Brian Empy, Selkirk Montessori

Play Date Structure for Exhibition Schedule:

  • 3 play dates based on 3 available (mostly) Wednesdays in April
  • Arrange extra play dates as desired (up to coaches)
  • link to Badminton Rules 

Guidelines for Exhibition Schedule

• Aim to start at 3:30 and end play around 5:00 pm.
• HOSTS please have shuttles on hand for visitors.
• VISITORS please try and attend with a racquet for every player,
as well as a sleeve of shuttles for warm-up.
• In exhibition play, single games to 11 points should suffice.
• Having an adult from the HOST school organize match ups and court
use will help the players maximize court time and enjoyment.
• It is not necessary to record or report game results, except for personal interest.

2023 Middle School Badminton Exhibition Schedule

Updated:

Week 1 – Wednesday, April 12
Maria Montessori at St. Pat’s
Lansdowne at Gordon Head
Spencer at Dunsmuir
GNS at SMUS
Glanford
Selkirk
at Royal Oak
CCCS at Monterey
PCS 1 at St. Margarets
PCS 2 at Arbutus 2
Rockheights at Cedar Hill
St. Joe’s at Centre Mtn Lellum
Week 2 – Wednesday, April 19
Arbutus 2 at GNS
Arbutus 1 at Monterey
CCCS at Dunsmuir
Spencer at Centre Mtn. Lellum
Glanford at Maria Montessoria
PCS 1 at Gordon Head
Rockheights at SMUS
St. Margarets at St. Joe’s
St. Pats at Lansdowne
Selkirk Montessori at Central
PCS 2 at Cedar Hill
ROMS intramural
Week 3 – Tuesday, April 25
Centre Mtn Lellum at Dunsmuir
PCS 1
Arbutus 2
at SMUS
Spencer at PCS 2
CCCS at GNS
Maria Montessori
Glanford
at St. Margarets
St. Joes at Royal Oak
Monterey at Rockheights
Cedar Hill at Lasndowne
Central at Gordon Head
Selkirk
St. Pat’s
at Arbutus 1

2023 Middle School Badminton Tournament Information

Link to 2023 Badminton City Finals @ SMUS Results

Here is the link to the 2023 LIMSSA Badminton Tournament Rules of Play/Procedure.

Info for 2023 Badminton Tournaments
No pre-registration for tournaments.  Coaches need to check in upon arrival.
Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked as A or B and need to know if a player has club experience.

Please see Tournament Information below for details and for the Badminton Tournament Worksheet
– to be used to organize your tournament players.

It is important that we start these tournaments as close to 2:30 PM as possible.
The earlier we start, the earlier we finish!  In past years, players have had to forfeit matches
due to having to leave prior to the Tournament Semi-Finals and Finals.

Level Date Site
Grade 6 Monday, May 1st 2:30 PM at SMUS
Grade 7 Tuesday, May 2nd 2:30 PM at SMUS
Grade 8 Wednesday, May 3rd 2:30 PM at SMUS
Finals
Grade 6/7/8
Monday, May 9th 2:30 PM at SMUS

Tournament Information

  • Separate Grade Tournaments for Grade 6, Grade 7 and Grade 8
    Separate draws for: Boys Singles, Boys Doubles, Girls Singles, Girls Doubles
    The top four from each of the Grade Tournaments qualify for the Finals.
  • Coaches need to check in upon arrival.  Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked
    as A or B AND and need to know if a player has club experience.
  • Please use the Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet.for your records and come
    prepared to transfer info into the tournament draws.  Instructions have been provided — here is the link).
  • A Link to full tournament information

Download Tournament Worksheet…  Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet

MIDDLE SCHOOL BADMINTON TOURNAMENT WORKSHEET
School
Coach
GRADE
Event
Girls  (Full Name)
Boys  (Full Name)
Singles A
   
Singles B
   
     
Doubles A  (Player 1)    
Doubles A  (Player 2)    
     
Doubles B  (Player 1)    
Doubles B  (Player 2)    

 

2018 Tournament Draws/Results

Grade 6/7/8 City Finals Draw

All games will be played at SMUS on Monday May 7th at 3:30pm.

Gr. 6 Girls Singles Name(s)/School
Semi Final # 1 Mattea (ROMS) vs Rachel (GHMS)
Semi Final # 2 Alexia (SEL) vs Ellie (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Girls Doubles
Semi Final # 1 Amanda/Kally (GHMS) vs Benson/Golder (Mont)
Semi Final # 2 Maya/Victoria (ROMS) vs Bella/Mahum(?)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 6 Boys Singles Name(s)/School
Semi Final # 1 Lucas (SMUS) vs Jonas (Cent)
Semi Final # 2 Tavin (CHill) vs Jason (Arbts)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Boys Doubles Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 George/Jamie (GNS) vs Rhys/Luka (CCCS)
Semi Final # 2 Michael/Jake (Cent)  – Consolation winner? – or 3 team round robin?
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 7 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Mira (ROMS) vs Lauren (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Bella (SMUS) vs Rachel (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Pre-Semi final* Kaylie/Shantay (GHMS) vs Lauren/Julia (Cent)
Semi Final # 1 Winner of pre semi vs Ceirra/Eden (Pcs)
Semi Final # 2 Charlotte/Amanda(SPS) vs April/Amy (GHMS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 7 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 James (PCS) vs Josh (ROMS)
Semi Final # 2 Christian (ROMS) vs Sinclair (CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Sinclair/Spencer (CHill) vs Pluem/Mats (GNS)
Semi Final # 2 Simon/Adam (GHMS) vs Santiago/Cameron (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 8 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Kate (ROMS) vs Amanda (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Alice (GNS) vs Nicole(Sel)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Lauryn/Sashee (GHMS) vs Hillary/Allie (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Hannah/Kia (GHMS) vs Emily/Victoria(CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 8 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Jerry (SMUS) vs Ryan (Arbts)
Semi Final # 2 Aaron (Sel) vs Theo (GNS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Max/Willy (SEL) vs Aland/Chris (GHMS)
Semi Final # 2 Andre/Rocky (SMUS) vs Ryan/BoHai (CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

2023 Middle School Badminton Coaches’ List

School Coach Email
Selkirk Montessori Brian Empey
Commissioner
brian@selkirkmontessori.ca
Arbutus Megan Peddie (AD) mpeddie@sd61.bc.ca
jhill@sd61.bc.ca
cmawson@sd61.bc.ca
rbeatty@sd61.bc.ca
Maria Montessori Andrew Farrell mr.andrew@mariamontessoriacademy.net
Rpyal Oak Adam Ravenhill
Ian Menzies
aravenhill@saanichschools.ca
imenzies@saanichschools.ca
SIDES Erik Oinonen eoinonen@saanichschools.ca
GNS Jackie Maycock
Duncan Brice (AD)
Ali Doerksen (AD)
jmaycock@mygns.ca
dbrice@mygns.ca
adoerksen@mygns.ca
Rockheights Matt Harris maharris@sd61.bc.ca
mmalinowski@sd61.bc.ca
SMUS George Floyd
Jackie Cunningham (AD)
george.floyd@smus.ca
jackie.cunningham@smus.ca
Cedar Hill Mark Ahenda (AD) mahenda@sd61.bc.ca
Central Gillian Braun (VP) gbraun@sd61.bc.ca
bgallupe@sd61.bc.ca
vzucko@sd61.bc.ca
Lansdowne Todd Schroeder (AD) tschroeder@sd61.bc.ca
Gordon Head Andrea Blair
Jason Owen (AD)
Darren Reesor
ablair@sd61.bc.ca
jowen@sd61.bc.ca
dreesor@sd61.bc.ca
St. Patrick’s Angela McLeish (AD) amcleish@cisdv.bc.ca
Monterey Jason Gammon (AD)
Kelly Nyhan
jgammon@sd61.bc.ca
knyhan@sd61.bc.ca
Cathedral James Rhodes james.rhodes@cathedralschool.ca
PCS Brett Low brett.low@pacificchristian.ca
Journey Zac Vine (AD) zvine@sd62.bc.ca
Spencer Brad Lidstone jroy@sd62.bc.ca
tconstable@sd62.bc.ca
blidstone@sd62.bc.ca    
Glanford Jaimee Devlin
Nicole Olynyk
jdevlin@sd61.bc.ca
nolynyk@sd61.bc.ca
Centre Mtn. Lellum Leanne Bilous labilous@sd62.bc.ca
kpelletier@sd62.bc.ca
St. Joe’s John Zuback jzuback@cisdv.ca
St. Margarets Dawn Ranns (AD) dranns@stmarg.ca
iholt@stmarg.ca
Dunsmuir Jamie Clegg
Meghan Caldwell
jclegg@sd62.bc.ca
mcaldwell@sd62.bc.ca

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.