Badminton

*site will be updated  in April for the 2018 season-  when information is available

 

2017 Middle School Badminton

COMMISSIONER for 2016/17:  Ian Menzies, Royal Oak   imenzies@sd63.bc.ca

Play Date Structure for Exhibition Schedule:

  • 3 play dates based on 3 available Wednesdays in April
  • Arrange extra play dates as desired (up to coaches)
  • 19 schools
  • link to Badminton Rules 

2017 Middle School Badminton Exhibition Schedule

Updated April 5.2017

Week 1 – Wednesday, April 12
St. Andrew’s, St. Patrick’s at Colquitz
Central at Lansdowne
Cathedral at Selkirk
Arbutus at Spencer
GNS at SMUS
Journey at Royal Oak
Cedar Hill at Gordon Head
Shoreline at Monterey
Maria Montessori at PCS
Week 2 – Wednesday, April 19
Shoreline GNS at Central
Selkirk at Monterey
Cedar Hill at Royal Oak
Arbutus at SMUS
Journey at Gordon Head
Cathedral at St. Andrew’s
Spencer at Colquitz
Maria Montessori at Lansdowne
GNS at PCS
Week 3 – Wednesday, April 26
Cedar Hill at SMUS
Monterey at Colquitz
St. Andrew’s, St. Patrick’s at Gordon Head
Spencer at Journey
GNS at Lansdowne
Maria Montessori at Selkirk
Arbutus at Royal Oak
Cathedral at Central
PCS at Shoreline

Guidelines for Exhibition Schedule

• Aim to start at 3:30 and end play around 5:00 pm.
• HOSTS please have shuttles as well as racquets on hand for visitors.
• VISITORS please try and attend with a racquet for every player,
as well as a sleeve of shuttles for warm-up.
• In exhibition play, single games to 21 points should suffice.
• Having an adult from the HOST school organize match ups and court
use will help the players maximize court time and enjoyment.
• It is not necessary to record or report game results, except for personal interest.

2017 Middle School Badminton Tournament Information

Here is the link to the 2017 LIMSSA Badminton Tournament Rules of Play / Procedure.

New Registration Info for 2017 Badminton Tournaments
No pre-registration for tournaments.  Coaches need to check in upon arrival.
Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked as A or B and need to know if a player has club experience.

Please see Tournament Information below for details and for the Badminton Tournament Worksheet
– to be used to organize your tournament players.

It is important that we start these tournaments as close to 3:30 PM as possible.
The earlier we start, the earlier we finish!  In past years, players have had to forfeit matches
due to having to leave prior to the Tournament Semi-Finals and Finals.

Level Date Site
Grade 6 Monday, May 1  3:30 PM at Spectrum
Grade 7 Wednesday, May 3  3:30 PM at Spectrum
Grade 8 Thursday, May 4    3:30 PM at Claremont
Finals
Grade 6/7/8
Monday, May 8     3:30 PM at SMUS

Tournament Information

  • Separate Grade Tournaments for Grade 6, Grade 7 and Grade 8
    Separate draws for: Boys Singles, Boys Doubles, Girls Singles, Girls Doubles
    The top four from each of the Grade Tournaments qualify for the Finals.
  • Coaches need to check in upon arrival.  Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked
    as A or B AND and need to know if a player has club experience.
  • Please use the Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet.for your records and come
    prepared to transfer info into the tournament draws.  Instructions have been provided — here is the link).
  • A player can enter ONE event only.
    Schools may enter 2 players/teams in each event.  For example an A and a B player/team.
  • Matches are best 2/3, games to 11 points (cap at 14 points).
  • Each player/team is guaranteed 2 matches (modified double-elimination with Consolation Draw).
  • Ribbons for 1st through 4th place, plus a ribbon for the Consolation Draw Winner.

Download Tournament Worksheet…  Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet

MIDDLE SCHOOL BADMINTON TOURNAMENT WORKSHEET
School
Coach
GRADE
Event
Girls  (Full Name)
Boys  (Full Name)
Singles A
   
Singles B
   
     
Doubles A  (Player 1)    
Doubles A  (Player 2)    
     
Doubles B  (Player 1)    
Doubles B  (Player 2)    

Here is anticipated participation from all schools :  LIMSSA 2017 Badminton Tournament Draw #’s Survey Link

2017 Middle School Badminton
Grade 6/7/8 City Finals Results

These students will be playing on Monday, May 8 at 3:30 at SMUS.
Winners shown in Blue

Grade 6 Badminton Tournament Results 2017

Gr. 6 Girls Singles Name(s)/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Eva W Central vs. Grace Yin SMUS
Semi Final # 2 Mira V ROMS vs. Rachel Lee PCS
3rd and 4th Rachel Lee PCS vs. Grace Yin SMUS
Final Mira V ROM vs. Eva W Central
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Girls Doubles Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Kate/Sasha PCS vs. Eden/Cierra PCS
Semi Final # 2 Maria/Victoria Lans vs. Amy/April GHMS
3rd and 4th Maria/Victoria Lans vs. Eden/Cierra PCS
Final Amy/April GHMS vs. Kate/Sasha PCS
Consol. Champs:
Gr. 6 Boys Singles Name(s)/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Josh Y ROMS vs. Jason Y MMA
Semi Final # 2 Ryan Chen PCS vs. Christian Siu ROMS
3rd and 4th Ryan Chen PCS vs. Jason Y MMA
Final Josh Y ROMS vs. Christian Siu ROMS
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Boys Doubles Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Mats/Callan GNS vs. Nicholas/Michael ROMS
Semi Final # 2 Sinclair/Spencer CH vs. Piers G/Jacob Y GHMS
3rd and 4th Nicholas/Michael ROMS vs. Sinclair/Spencer CH
Final Mats/Callan GNS vs. Piers G/Jacob Y GHMS
Consol. Champs:

Grade 7 Badminton Tournament Results 2017

Gr. 7 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Jade CCCS vs. Nicole Slkrk
Semi Final # 2 Kate ROMS vs. Anna-Sophie PCS
3rd and 4th Anna-Sophie PCS vs. Jade CCCS
Final Kate ROMS vs. Nicole Slkrk
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Sashini S/Lauryn D GHMS vs. Victoria/Emily CCCS
Semi Final # 2 Sam/Sarah Jrny vs. Allie/Hillary PCS
3rd and 4th Victoria/Emily CCCS vs. Sam/Sarah Jrny
Final Sashini S/Lauryn D GHMS vs. Allie/Hillary PCS
Consol. Champs:
Gr. 7 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Riley SP vs.Theo GNS
Semi Final # 2 Ron ROMS vs. Aaron Slkrk
3rd and 4th Ron ROMS vs. Theo GNS
Final Riley SP vs. Aaron Slkrk
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Alex/Nolen MMA vs. Owen/Luis SP
Semi Final # 2 Leon/Tristan CH vs. Alond C/Chris Y GHMS
3rd and 4th Leon/Tristan CH vs. Alex/Nolen MMA
Final Owen/Luis SP vs. Alond C/Chris Y GHMS
Consol. Champs:

Grade 8 Badminton Tournament Results 2017

Gr. 8 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Mido SMUS vs. Ellie ROMS
Semi Final # 2 Angel Lans vs. Alice GNS
3rd and 4th Angel Lans vs. Mido SMUS
Final Ellie ROMS vs. Alice GNS
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Janelle/Fiona GHMS vs. Addy/Tara PCS
Semi Final # 2 Londyn/Yuka GNS vs. Krisalla/Lauryn CCCS
3rd and 4th Janelle/Fiona GHMS vs. Krisalla/Lauryn CCCS
Final Londyn/Yuka GNS vs. Addy/Tara PCS
Consol. Champs:
Gr. 8 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Rohit Colq. vs. Ryan CCCS
Semi Final # 2 Andy Lans. vs. Justin ROMS
3rd and 4th Justin ROMS vs. Ryan CCCS
Final Rohit Colq. vs. Andy Lans.
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School  Winner in blue.
Semi Final # 1 Jet/Andrew Slkrk vs. Ben/Tyson ROMS
Semi Final # 2 Kobe/Tre Jrny vs. Leo/Takin ROMS
3rd and 4th Kobe/Tre Jrny vs. Ben/Tyson ROMS
Final Leo/Takin ROMS vs. Jet/Andrew Slkrk
Consol. Champs:


2017 Middle School Badminton Coaches’ List

School Coach Email
ROMS Ian Menzies
Commissioner
imenzies@sd63.bc.ca
Colquitz Mikki Reintjes mdreintjes@sd61.bc.ca
Arbutus Alex Lemon
Kelli Meredith
alemon@sd61.bc.ca
kmeredith@sd61.bc.ca
Maria Montessori Christina Hoffmann
Tiffany Campbell
miss.christina@mariamontessoriacademy.net
miss.tiffany@mariamontessoriacademy.net
Selkirk Montessori Brian Empey
Commissioner
brian@selkirkmontessori.ca
Shoreline Sean Gorman
Ira Hemond
sgorman@sd61.bc.ca
ihemond@sd61.bc.ca
GNS Jackie Maycock
Duncan Brice (AD)
Ali Doerksen (AD)
jmaycock@mygns.ca
dbrice@mygns.ca
adoerksen@mygns.ca
St. Andrew’s Theresa Vogen
Erin Delude
tvogel@rcdvictoria.org
edelude@cisdv.bc.ca
SMUS George Floyd george.floyd@smus.ca
Cedar Hill Paul Hayes (AD) phayes@sd61.bc.ca
Central Kelly Nyhan
Roger Duval
knyhan@sd61.bc.ca
rduval@sd61.bc.ca
Lansdowne Don Leblond
Paul Stevenson
dlebond@sd61.bc.ca
pstevenson@sd61.bc.ca
Gordon Head Shawn Edwards
Andrea Blair
Cathy Nelson
Leanne Barcelos
shawn-edw@shaw.ca
ablair@sd61.bc.c
a
cnelson@sd61.bc.ca
lbarcelos@sd61.bc.ca
St. Patrick’s Lisa Hoffner
Sam Butler (AD)
lhoffner@cisdv.bc.ca
sbutler@cisdv.bc.ca
Monterey Kelly Dodds
Bill O’Brien
kdodds@sd61.bc.ca
wobrien@sd61.bc.ca
Cathedral James Rhodes james.rhodes@cathedralschool.ca
PCS Adam Price
Gabe Kremler
adam.price@pacificchristian.ca
gabe.kremler@pacificchristian.ca
Journey Randy Dunbar rdunbar@sd62.bc.ca
Spencer Kyla Pelletier kpelletier@sd62.bc.ca

2016 Middle School Final Badminton Results

2015 Middle School Final Badminton Results

2015 Final Results

Badminton City Finals 2015

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed