Badminton

2018 Middle School Badminton

COMMISSIONER for 2017/18:  Ian Menzies, Royal Oak   imenzies@sd63.bc.ca

Play Date Structure for Exhibition Schedule:

  • 3 play dates based on 3 available Wednesdays/Thursday in April
  • Arrange extra play dates as desired (up to coaches)
  • 19 schools
  • link to Badminton Rules 

2018 Middle School Badminton Exhibition Schedule

Updated April 3, 6

Week 1 – Wednesday, April 11
St. Andrew’s, St. Patrick’s at Colquitz
Central at Lansdowne
Cathedral at Selkirk
Arbutus at Spencer
GNS at SMUS
Shoreline & Monterey at Royal Oak
Cedar Hill at Gordon Head
Shoreline at Monterey
Week 2 – Wednesday, April 18
Shoreline & GNS at Central
Selkirk at Monterey
Cedar Hill at Royal Oak
Arbutus at SMUS
Lansdowne at Gordon Head
Cathedral & St. Pats at St. Andrew’s
Spencer at Colquitz
Wednesday April 25th
Spencer at Royal Oak
Week 3 – Thursday, April 26
Cedar Hill at SMUS
Monterey at Colquitz
St. Andrew’s, St. Patrick’s & Shoreline at Gordon Head
GNS at Lansdowne
Maria Montessori at Selkirk
Arbutus at Royal Oak
Cathedral at Central

Guidelines for Exhibition Schedule

• Aim to start at 3:30 and end play around 5:00 pm.
• HOSTS please have shuttles on hand for visitors.
• VISITORS please try and attend with a racquet for every player,
as well as a sleeve of shuttles for warm-up.
• In exhibition play, single games to 11 points should suffice.
• Having an adult from the HOST school organize match ups and court
use will help the players maximize court time and enjoyment.
• It is not necessary to record or report game results, except for personal interest.

2018 Middle School Badminton Tournament Information

Here is the link to the 2018 LIMSSA Badminton Tournament Rules of Play/Procedure.

Info for 2018 Badminton Tournaments
No pre-registration for tournaments.  Coaches need to check in upon arrival.
Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked as A or B and need to know if a player has club experience.

Please see Tournament Information below for details and for the Badminton Tournament Worksheet
– to be used to organize your tournament players.

It is important that we start these tournaments as close to 3:30 PM as possible.
The earlier we start, the earlier we finish!  In past years, players have had to forfeit matches
due to having to leave prior to the Tournament Semi-Finals and Finals.

Level Date Site
Grade 6 Monday, April 30  3:30 PM at SMUS
Grade 7 Tuesday, May 1  3:30 PM at SMUS
Grade 8 Wednesday, May 2  3:30 PM at SMUS
Finals
Grade 6/7/8
Monday, May 7 3:30 PM at SMUS

Tournament Information

  • Separate Grade Tournaments for Grade 6, Grade 7 and Grade 8
    Separate draws for: Boys Singles, Boys Doubles, Girls Singles, Girls Doubles
    The top four from each of the Grade Tournaments qualify for the Finals.
  • Coaches need to check in upon arrival.  Coaches need to have their players/teams ranked
    as A or B AND and need to know if a player has club experience.
  • Please use the Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet.for your records and come
    prepared to transfer info into the tournament draws.  Instructions have been provided — here is the link).
  • A Link to full tournament information

Download Tournament Worksheet…  Middle School Badminton Tournament Worksheet

MIDDLE SCHOOL BADMINTON TOURNAMENT WORKSHEET
School
Coach
GRADE
Event
Girls  (Full Name)
Boys  (Full Name)
Singles A
   
Singles B
   
     
Doubles A  (Player 1)    
Doubles A  (Player 2)    
     
Doubles B  (Player 1)    
Doubles B  (Player 2)    

 

Here is anticipated participation from all schools :  LIMSSA 2017 Badminton Tournament Draw #’s Survey Link

2018 Tournament Draws/Results

Grade 6/7/8 City Finals Draw

All games will be played at SMUS on Monday May 7th at 3:30pm.

Gr. 6 Girls Singles Name(s)/School
Semi Final # 1 Mattea (ROMS) vs Rachel (GHMS)
Semi Final # 2 Alexia (SEL) vs Ellie (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Girls Doubles
Semi Final # 1 Amanda/Kally (GHMS) vs Benson/Golder (Mont)
Semi Final # 2 Maya/Victoria (ROMS) vs Bella/Mahum(?)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 6 Boys Singles Name(s)/School
Semi Final # 1 Lucas (SMUS) vs Jonas (Cent)
Semi Final # 2 Tavin (CHill) vs Jason (Arbts)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 6 Boys Doubles Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 George/Jamie (GNS) vs Rhys/Luka (CCCS)
Semi Final # 2 Michael/Jake (Cent)  – Consolation winner? – or 3 team round robin?
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 7 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Mira (ROMS) vs Lauren (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Bella (SMUS) vs Rachel (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Pre-Semi final* Kaylie/Shantay (GHMS) vs Lauren/Julia (Cent)
Semi Final # 1 Winner of pre semi vs Ceirra/Eden (Pcs)
Semi Final # 2 Charlotte/Amanda(SPS) vs April/Amy (GHMS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 7 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 James (PCS) vs Josh (ROMS)
Semi Final # 2 Christian (ROMS) vs Sinclair (CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 7 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Sinclair/Spencer (CHill) vs Pluem/Mats (GNS)
Semi Final # 2 Simon/Adam (GHMS) vs Santiago/Cameron (PCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 8 Girls Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Kate (ROMS) vs Amanda (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Alice (GNS) vs Nicole(Sel)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Girls Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Lauryn/Sashee (GHMS) vs Hillary/Allie (PCS)
Semi Final # 2 Hannah/Kia (GHMS) vs Emily/Victoria(CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

 

Gr. 8 Boys Singles Semi Finalists: Name/School vs. Name/School
Semi Final # 1 Jerry (SMUS) vs Ryan (Arbts)
Semi Final # 2 Aaron (Sel) vs Theo (GNS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champ:
Gr. 8 Boys Doubles Semi Finalists: Names/School vs. Names/School
Semi Final # 1 Max/Willy (SEL) vs Aland/Chris (GHMS)
Semi Final # 2 Andre/Rocky (SMUS) vs Ryan/BoHai (CCCS)
3rd and 4th
Final
Consol. Champs:

2018 Middle School Badminton Coaches’ List

School Coach Email
ROMS Ian Menzies
Commissioner
imenzies@sd63.bc.ca
Colquitz Mikki Reintjes
Megan Parry
mdreintjes@sd61.bc.ca
mparry@sd61.bc.ca
Arbutus Layth Matthews
Clayton Howe (AD)
layth@rigdenfinancial.ca
clhowe@sd61.bc.ca
Maria Montessori Christina Hoffmann
Tiffany Campbell
Andrew Farrell
miss.christina@mariamontessoriacademy.net
miss.tiffany@mariamontessoriacademy.net
andrewfarrell9@yahoo.ca
Selkirk Montessori Brian Empey brian@selkirkmontessori.ca
Shoreline Megan Peddie mpeddie@sd61.bc.ca
GNS Jackie Maycock
Duncan Brice (AD)
Ali Doerksen (AD)
jmaycock@mygns.ca
dbrice@mygns.ca
adoerksen@mygns.ca
St. Andrew’s Erin Delude edelude@cisdv.bc.ca
SMUS George Floyd george.floyd@smus.ca
Cedar Hill Paul Hayes (AD) phayes@sd61.bc.ca
Central Gabe Levesque
Vini Zucko
Roger Duval
glevesque@sd61.bc.ca
vzucko@sd61.bc.ca
rduval@sd61.bc.ca
Lansdowne Don Leblond
Paul Stevenson
dlebond@sd61.bc.ca
pstevenson@sd61.bc.ca
Gordon Head Jolene Smith
Andrea Blair
Cathy Nelson
Leanne Barcelos
josmith2sd61.bc.ca
ablair@sd61.bc.c
a
cnelson@sd61.bc.ca
lbarcelos@sd61.bc.ca
St. Patrick’s Connor Russel
Sam Butler (AD)
crussell@cisdv.bc.ca
sbutler@cisdv.bc.ca
Monterey Lana Rud
Kelly Nyhan
Doug Tolson
lrud@sd61.bc.ca
knyhan@sd61.bc.ca
dougtolson@shaw.ca
Cathedral James Rhodes james.rhodes@cathedralschool.ca
PCS Gabe Kremler gabe.kremler@pacificchristian.ca
Journey Glenn Bedard
James Roy
gbedard@sd62.bc.ca
jroy@sd62.bc.ca
Spencer Kyla Pelletier
Laura Boyce (Gr 6)
Thom Constable (Gr 6)
Brad Lidstone (Gr 7/8)
kpelletier@sd62.bc.ca
lboyce@sd62.bc.ca
tconstable@sd62.bc.ca
blidstone@sd62.bc.ca    
Victor Brodeur Valérie Dorais
Tracy Wong-Sinclair
valerie_dorais@csf.bc.ca
tracy_wong@csf.bc.ca
WSANEC Time Harris tharris@wsanecschoolboard.ca

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.