6/7 Boys Rugby

**To be updated  for Spring 2018 when information is available (April)

 

2017 Commissioner:  Bruce Kuklinski, SMUS;  bruce.kuklinski@smus.bc.ca | 250-592-3549

GAME TIME- All games will start at 3:45pm or earlier if possible. Finish as close to 5pm or as soon after as possible.

2017 Jamboree information:  Monday May 15 at SMUS.. more info to come.

Games are 7-aside using World Rugby 7-aside Laws. Please see these in a separate Laws document. However unlimited substitutions can be made in all games. Please also see in the separate laws document the new Word Rugby application updates since last season.

Game length is to be as follows with the aim being that each team will play approx. 30-40minutes per day:
Games to be played on ½ size rugby/soccer field approx. 35-40m across X 50-60m long.
It is recommended that the ball size used at this level be a size 4 rugby ball, instead of a larger size 5 rugby ball.

Other Laws are to be as follows:
Grade 7/8 – Season begins with uncontested 3 person scrums and maximum of 3 person (i.e. 2 or 3 person) uncontested lineouts but gradually moves to contested scrums and lineouts depending on each teams developments. By the Jamboree everyone is playing contested scrums and lineouts. After a try, the team that has scored restarts play with a drop kick which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. Errors by the kicking team at a kick-off or restart result in a free kick to the non-offending team which must be taken at or behind the centre of the half way line. The defending scrumhalf must take a position either 5m back from the scrum, or immediately behind the scrum with one hand touching his own hooker until the scrum is over i.e. the ball is out of the scrum.

Rugby Info: For complete rules and regulations for Grade  6/7  Boys Rugby, please see below:
Coaches’ information for  6/7 < 100 lbs Boys Middle School Rugby

Coaches’ information for  6/7 < 130 lbs Boys Middle School Rugby

 

Schedule: 6/7 Under 100lbs Boys Middle School Rugby (Lights) 

updated March 31    
Tuesday April 11 Lansdowne and Cedar Hill at SMUS 2 X 10min period games
  Arbutus and Royal Oak at Central 2 X 10min period games
     
Tuesday April 18 Arbutus and SMUS at Royal Oak  2 X 10min period games
  Cedar Hill and Central at Lansdowne  2 X 10min period games
     
Tuesday April 25 Royal Oak and SMUS at Cedar Hill  2 X 10min period games
  Lansdowne and Central at Arbutus  2 X 10min period games
     
Tuesday May 2 Arbutus and Royal Oak at Lansdowne  2 X 10min period games
  Cedar Hill and SMUS at Central  2 X 10min period games
     
Tuesday  May 9 Lansdowne and SMUS at Royal Oak 2 X 10min period games
  Cedar Hill and Central at Arbutus  2 X 10min period games
Monday  May 15 Jamboree at SMUS  

2017 Grade 6/7 and less than 100lbs Boys Jamboree Schedule

Round Robin – 2 X 7 minute halves
Lansdowne / Cedar Hill / Royal Oak / Arbutus / Central / SMUS

Scores
After your games, please report the number of tries scored for each team to whoever is manning the master schedule that will be at the pavilion (where BBQ is being held).

Round Robin – 2 X 7 minute halves
Game 1 – 9:00am – Cedar Hill vs. SMUS – Field 1

Game 2 – 9:00am – Lansdowne vs. Arbutus – Field 3
Game 3 – 9:00am – Royal Oak vs. Central – Field 4
Game 4 – 10:00am – Arbutus vs. SMUS – Field 2
Game 5 – 10:00am – Lansdowne vs. Royal Oak – Field 3
Game 6 – 10:00am – Cedar Hill vs. Central – Field 4
Game 7 – 11:00am – Royal Oak vs. SMUS – Field 1
Game 8 – 11:00am – Lansdowne vs. Central – Field 3
Game 9 – 11:00am – Cedar Hill vs. Arbutus – Field 4

LUNCH WILL BE SERVED 11:20AM TO 12 NOON

Game 10 – 12:30pm – Central vs. SMUS – Field 2
Game 11 – 12:30pm – Lansdowne vs. Cedar Hill – Field 3
Game 12 – 12:30pm – Royal Oak vs. Arbutus – Field 4
Game 13 – 1:10pm – Cedar Hill vs. Royal Oak – Field 3
Game 14 – 1:10pm – Arbutus vs. Central – Field 4
Game 15 – 1:50pm – Lansdowne vs. SMUS – Field 1

Schedule: 6/7 Under 130lbs Boys Middle School Rugby 

updated March 31    
Wednesday April 12 
(Glanford unable to play today)
SMUS at Shoreline 3 X 10min period games
Gordon Head at Central 3 X 10min period games
GNS at North Saanich 3 X 10min period games
Bayside at Royal Oak 3 X 10min period games
Lansdowne at Monterey 3 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday April 19  Shoreline at Glanford   3 X 10min period games
Lansdowne and Royal Oak at GNS (Windsor Park)  2 X 10min period games
Monterey and North Saanich at Gordon Head  2 X 10min period games
Bayside and Central at SMUS  2 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday April 26  SMUS at Lansdowne  3 X 10min period games
Monterey and Glanford at Central  2 X 10min period games
Gordon Head and Royal Oak at Shoreline 2 X 10min period games
GNS and North Saanich at Bayside 2 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday May 3  Bayside at Monterey   3 X 10min period games
SMUS and GNS at Gordon Head  2 X 10min period games
Shoreline and Central at Royal Oak  2 X 10min period games
Glanford and Lansdowne at North Saanich  2 X 10min period games
     
Wednesday  May 10   Central at GNS (Windsor Park)  3 X 10min period games
  Shoreline and North Saanich at Bayside 2 X 10min period games
  Gordon Head and Monterey at Lansdowne  2 X 10min period games
  Royal Oak and SMUS at Glanford 2 X 10min period games
Monday  May 15 Jamboree at SMUS  

2017 Grade 6/7 and less than 130lbs Boys Jamboree Schedule

Pool A – 2 X 9 minute halves
Game 1 – 9:30am – Gordon Head vs. North Saanich – Field 3

Game 5 – 10:30am – North Saanich vs. Port Alberni – Field 3
Game 9 – 11:30am – Gordon Head vs. Port Alberni – Field 3

Pool B – 2 X 9 minute halves
Game 2 – 9:30am – Lansdowne vs. Royal Oak– Field 2

Game 6 – 10:30am – Lansdowne vs. Shoreline – Field 2
Game 10 – 11:30am – Royal Oak vs. Shoreline – Field 2

Pool C – 2 X 9 minute halves
Game 3 – 9:30am – Bayside vs. Central – Field 4

Game 7 – 10:30am – Bayside vs. Monterey – Field 4
Game 11 – 11:30am – Central vs. Monterey – Field 4

Pool D – 2 X 9 minute halves
Game 4 – 9:30am – GNS vs. SMUS – Field 1

Game 8 – 10:30am – GNS vs. Glanford – Field 1
Game 12 – 11:30am – Glanford vs. SMUS – Field 1

Score
Scores need to be kept during pool play, so that after pool play, teams can be placed in the appropriate games for the remainder of the day.

In the event that teams in the same initial pools are tied on wins and losses at the end of their pool play, in order to decide where teams are placed in which placing games, teams will firstly be ranked if two teams are involved based on the result between the two teams, and secondly on the try differential from all initial pool games.

2017 Grade 6/7 and less than 130lbs placing matches – (2 X 7 minute halves)
Placing Games
In the event of a tie in these placing games, 2 X 2 minute sudden death halves shall be played, with the first team scoring declared the winner. If neither team scores in sudden death overtime, the team that scored first in the game shall be declared the winner.

Cup Quarter-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 13 – 12:50pm – 1st Pool A vs. 2nd Pool D – Field 1
Game 14 – 12:50pm – 1st Pool B vs. 2nd Pool C – Field 2
Game 15 – 12:50pm – 1st Pool C vs. 2nd Pool B – Field 3
Game 16 – 12:50pm – 1st Pool D vs. 2nd Pool A – Field 4

Bowl Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 17 – 1:10pm – 3rd Pool A vs. 3rd Pool D – Field 1
Game 18 – 1:10pm – 3rd Pool B vs. 3rd Pool C – Field 2

Plate Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 19 – 1:30pm – Loser Game 13 vs. Loser Game 15 – Field 3
Game 20 – 1:30pm – Loser Game 14 vs. Loser Game 16 – Field 4

Cup Semi-Finals – 7 minute halves
Game 21 – 1:30pm – Winner Game 13 vs. Winner Game 15 – Field 1
Game 22 – 1:30pm – Winner Game 14 vs. Winner Game 16 – Field 2

11th/12th Playoff – 7 minute halves
Game 23 – 1:50pm – Loser Game 17 vs. Loser Game 18 – Field 4

Bowl Final – 7 minute halves
Game 24 – 1:50pm – Winner Game 17 vs. Winner Game 18 – Field 3

7th/8th Playoff – 7 minute halves
Game 25 – 2:10pm – Loser Game 19 vs. Loser Game 20 – Field 4

Plate Final – 7 minute halves
Game 26 – 2:10pm – Winner Game 19 vs. Winner Game 20 – Field 3

3rd/4th Playoff – 7 minute halves
Game 27 – 2:10pm – Loser Game 21 vs. Loser Game 22 – Field 2

Cup Final – 7 minute halves
Game 28 – 2:30pm – Winner Game 21 vs. Winner Game 22 – Field 1


Grade 6/7 Coaches Contact List 2017

School Name Email Phone (250)
Arbutus Frank Scigliano  fsscigliano@sd61.bc.ca 477.1878
<100 Rob Parker rparker@sd61.bc.ca
Bayside Rod MacDonald rmacdonald@sd63.bc.ca 652.1135
  Jai Pereira jaipereira@shaw.ca
  Steve Noble steven.n@telus.net
Cedar Hill Paul Hayes phayes@sd61.bc.ca 477.6945
<100 Dom Butcher dombutcher@gmail.com 250-415-9580
       
Central Topher McIntosh cmacintosh@sd61.bc.ca 652-1135
  Kevin Clark keclark@sd61.bc.ca  
       
Glanford Micha Seaberg mseaberg@sd61.bc.ca 479.7179
       
GNS Duncan Brice dbrice@mygns.bc.ca  370.6803
Damon Henry dhenry@mygns.bc.ca 
MacBryan Bos macbryan.bos@gmail.com 580.7648
Doug Palm dpalm@mygns.com
       
Gordon Head Shawn Edwards shawn-edw@shaw.ca 477.1855
  Lance Foreman lsa4man@shaw.ca  858-8508
  Keith Grew kgrew@sd61.bc.ca 216-6109 
       
Lansdowne Gavin Growell growell@gmail.com 598.3336
<130 Matt Gallagher  matt9_gallagher@hotmail.com
<130 Conor Keys conorkeys@gmail.com
<100 Caleb Hosie calebhosie@gmail.com
<100 Gavin Hastings phastdoc@gmail.co
  Paul Stevenson pstevenson@sd61.bc.ca  
Monterey Lana Rud lrud@sd61.bc.ca 598.4589
Jonathan Romphf  romphjf@sd61.bc.ca
Roger Robinson  rogerthelocal@gmail.com (250-661-8747)
       
North Saanich Pat Chambers pchambers@sd63.bc.ca 656.1129
  Nadine Stofer nstofer@sd63.bc.ca  
  Owen Davies odavies@sd63.bc.ca  
       
 Royal Oak Ian Menzies imenzies @sd63.bc.ca  479.7128
  Ian Reston ireston@sd63.bc.ca  
       
Shoreline Tom Woods tom.woods@telus.net 386.8367
  Nadine Naughton nnaugton@sd61.bc.ca  
Michelle Troughton mtroughton@sd61.bc.ca
       
SMUS Bruce Kuklinski bruce.kuklinski@smus.ca 592.9853
  Jerome Foenander jerome.foenander@smus.ca  (514-1049)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed